Thirteen Bobcats Named to All-ACFC Squad

Nov. 15, 2000
Bookmark and Share

Thirteen Bobcats Named to All-ACFC Squad

Ferrum, Va. ... Thirteen Frostburg State student-athletes have been named to the 2000 Atlantic Central Football Conference All-Conference Team in a vote by the league's coaches yesterday in Richmond, Va.

A league-high five Bobcats were selected to the All-ACFC's first-team defense. Sophomore defensive end Allen Jordan (Edgewood, Md./Edgewood), senior defensive lineman Patrick Hoiler (La Plata, Md./McDonough), senior linebackers Chris Seguinot (Fairfax, Va./Robinson) and John McElhenny (Woodbridge, Va./Gar-Field) and senior cornerback Brian McElhenny (Woodbridge, Va./Gar-Field) represented Frostburg State on the defensive unit.

Jordan, a second-team pick last season, led the league with 9.0 sacks and 21 tackles for losses of 94 yards. He also tied for 15th in the conference with 7.2 tackles per game. Hoiler, a repeat first-team selection, tied for fourth in the ACFC with 14 tackles for loss, while his 5.0 sacks ranked fifth in the league.

Seguinot, who also earned first-team honors in 1999, used a career-high 21-tackle performance in the season finale to finish second in the ACFC with 99 tackles, including a league-best 63 solo stops. He also recorded six pass breakups, three interceptions and a fumble recovery.

John McElhenny's 92 tackles (54 solos) ranked fourth in the conference, and he tied for seventh with 13 tackles for loss.

Brian McElhenny, another repeat first-team selection, led the league with 13 total passes defended and ranked second with five interceptions to give him a Bobcat career record 19 picks.

Sophomore offensive lineman Matt Smith (Waldorf, Md./Thomas Stone) was named to the second team after anchoring a Bobcat unit beset by injuries. He started all 10 games this season and helped FSU average 143.8 rushing yards a game.

Also earning second-team offensive honors was senior fullback Chris Perkins (La Plata, Md./La Plata), who led the Bobcats with four rushing touchdowns and a 5.0 yards-per-carry average while ranking second on the squad with 404 rushing yards.

Senior punter Tim Loss (Walkersville, Md./Walkersville) and freshman placekicker Cary Greenfield (Leesburg, Va./Loudoun County) were named to the second-team special teams unit.

Loss ranked third in the conference with a 36.3-yard average and led the league with 71 kicks for 2,574 yards. He also helped Frostburg State finish first in the ACFC with a 33.9 net yards per punt mark.

Greenfield was third in the league in both field goal percentage (5-of-8, 62.5) and PAT kicking percentage (16-of-18, 88.9), and he also ranked fourth in the ACFC in kick scoring with 31 points.

Sophomore defensive end Ronald Luczak (Waldorf, Md./Thomas Stone), senior linebacker Brent Stum (Elizabethtown, Pa./Elizabethtown), senior cornerback Derek Kirk (Mechanicsville, Md./Chopticon) and senior defensive lineman Mo Banaei (Rockville, Md./Walter Johnson) each earned honorable mention honors.

Luczak tied for fourth in the league with 14 tackles for loss and tied for sixth in sacks (4.5) to go along with 58 tackles.

Stum ranked fifth on the Bobcat squad with a career-high 58 tackles and added three pass breakups, an interception and a pair of kickoff returns for 42 yards.

Kirk tied for third in the ACFC with 10 passes defended and finished tied for fourth with four interceptions. Banaei tied for fifth on the Bobcats with a career-high 58 tackles, including 12 for loss and 2.5 sacks.

Wesley's Mike Drass was named the ACFC Coach of the Year after leading the Wolverines to an 8-1 overall record and the conference title with a perfect 6-0 league mark. Wesley also earned its first-ever NCAA Division III playoff berth.

Wolverine junior quarterback Jason Visconti earned ACFC Offensive Player of the Year honors by completing 136-of-258 passes for 1,995 yards, 21 touchdowns and 10 interceptions.

Ferrum defensive lineman Tone' Dancy (57 tackles, 10 for loss, six sacks) and Wesley defensive back Andre Summers (35 tackles, six interceptions) were named ACFC Co-Defensive Players of the Year, while Chowan defensive lineman John Boyter (44 tackles, 12 for loss, five sacks) and Salisbury State quarterback Mac Mollet (45-of-100 for 454 yards, three touchdowns and four interceptions) earned ACFC Co-Rookie of the Year honors.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of Sports Information
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD 21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-4371
Fax: 301-687-4780