Bullamore Given Frostburg State University President\u2019s Distinguished Faculty Award

May 27, 2016
Bookmark and Share

Bullamore Given Frostburg State University President's Distinguished Faculty Award

Bullamore Given Frostburg State University President's Distinguished Faculty Award
Dr. Henry "Hank" Bullamore, right, accepts the Frostburg State University President's Distinguished Faculty Award from Dr. Tom Bowling at FSU's 148th Commencement.

Dr. Henry "Hank" Bullamore, a professor in Frostburg State University's Department of Geography, has been selected as the fifth recipient of the President's Distinguished Faculty Award. The award was presented at FSU's 148th Commencement Ceremony.

Dr. Thomas Bowling, until recently the interim FSU President, identified Bullamore as an early advocate for the educational benefits of student experiences.

"Throughout his 30 years of service to FSU, Dr. Bullamore has worked to enhance the educational experience of his students, involving them in field trips, providing students the opportunity to interact with professionals in a variety of settings and getting them involved in projects that assist area communities," said Bowling, the vice president for Student Affairs, who presided over commencement.

The Distinguished Faculty Award was established to recognize and encourage faculty members who advance the University's mission, goals and strategic planning initiatives. Awardees are recognized during the commencement ceremony and receive a monetary award, a medallion and plaque.

"Hank, at this point in his career, could easily rest on his accomplishments at FSU, yet he has continued to work to enhance the university and provide support for student learning," said Dr. Sydney Duncan, associate provost, in her nomination letter. "He is never afraid to tackle hard work and always asks the difficult questions." Duncan is a previous recipient of the award.

In addition to his many years on the faculty, Bullamore has served as interim director of the Center for International Education on three occasions, led the first FSU study abroad trip to China and authored or co-authored program proposals to create majors in International Studies, Earth Science and Urban and Regional Planning and minors in African American Studies and Sustainability Studies. In faculty governance, Bullamore has served as secretary of the Senate and chaired the Faculty Concerns Committee and the Institutional Priorities and Resources Committee. He has facilitated Middle States reaccreditation review efforts and served on the Provost's Task Force on Academic Programming.

In 2015, Bullamore led the committee to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Department of Geography at FSU, which re-established contact with the department's alumni and former staff members, capped off by alumni banquet to mark the occasion. He also hosted the regional meetings of the Association of American Geographers on campus, showcasing Frostburg's geographic education for industry professionals.

Bullamore has served the people of Western Maryland, as well. He is the longest serving member of the Cumberland Historic Preservation Committee, which he has served since 1996. Through that role, he has arranged student internships, collaborated on presentations and provided technical advice for planning documents. He has also served on the Foundation for Frostburg board, working to strengthen and expand the foundation's programs.

The President's Distinguished Faculty Award is supported by the FSU Foundation. For more information, visit www.frostburg.edu/foundation/ways-to-give or call 301-687-4161.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD 21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589
E-mail: news@frostburg.edu